School Swimming Carnivals

2019 Carnival Dates

Day Date School Start
Thursday 31st January Appin 9:30am
Friday 1st February The Oaks 9:30am
Monday 4th February Narellan Public 9:45am
Tuesday 5th February Douglas Park 9:30am
Wednesday 6th February Bargo 9:30am
Thursday 7th February Cawdor / Mt Hunter 9:30am
Friday 8th February Wilton 9:30am
Monday 11th February Tahmoor 9:30am
Tuesday 12th February Oakdale / Yanderra 9:30am
Wednesday 13th February Picton High 9:00am
Thursday 14th February Picton Primary 9:30am
Friday 15th February WAC (Junior?) 8:30am
Monday 18th February St Anthonys 9:30am
Tuesday 19th February Thirlmere 9:30am
Wednesday 20th February
Thursday 21st February Buxton / Yanderra 9:30am
Friday 22nd February WAC (Seniors?) 8:00am
Monday 25th February
Tuesday 26th February
Wednesday 27th February  –
Thursday 28th February Razorback Zone – Freestyle 8:00am
Friday 1st March Razorback Zone – Strokes 8:00am

Carnival Entry Prices

Item Cost
Student (normally pay at school) $4.30
Teachers FREE
Pool Hire FREE
Parent Spectators and Helpers $2.50
Valid Member Cards for Carnival Entry
Aquatic or Gym Membership – YES
Learn to Swim or Squad Card – NO
Please Note:
Learn to Swim students and Squad Swimmers must also pay pool entry during school events. Aquatic & Gym members can scan their member card. All Spectators must pay, regardless of which school you attend. Wollondilly Leisure Centre does not charge the schools a booking / hire fee and makes the outdoor pool exclusive for the school during carnival times

Public Access

Schools have exclusive use of the outdoor pool during carnival times.
Lap lanes remain available in the indoor pool all day.

Carnivals generally run between 9:00am and 2:45pm, with some longer events on Picton High, Wollondilly Anglican and the Razorback Zone day’s.

Risk Assessment

The following download is for Carnival Organisers and Schools. Just remember that our risk assessment should be used in conjunction with your own assessment.

Download Risk Assessment – for Schools
Carnival-Diving

Dive Entry

Due to the potential for injury by diving in shallow water the following restrictions apply to all swim carnivals.

Outdoor Pool
We advise that for school level carnivals and sport, dive entries be conducted from the deep end of the pool only.
In-water starts are to be used for shallow end races (relays).

For Zone level competition, dive entries are permissible from the shallow end by trained competitors only, and provided that the swimmers are warned of the risks and water depth prior to each event.

Indoor Pool
No diving is permitted in the indoor pool for school based activities

For further information download our Diving & Shallow Water Guidelines and Risk Assessment